Teaching faculty come primarily from the five core areas that are studied in the Cognitive Science program. Five faculty from the Anthropology, Psychology, Philosophy, and Computer Science Departments make up the Cognitive Science Committee, representing five concentrations. This committee is responsible for choosing courses each semester that are appropriate for Cognitive Science majors.


Per Sederberg, Director


West Complex
Cognitive Psychology Area

John Hott

Computer Science

201 Rice Hall
Computer Science Area

Zachary Irving

Zachary Irving


207 Cocke Hall
Philosophy Area

Dan Meliza



Neuroscience Area

Mark Sicoli


Brooks Hall

Linguistics Area


Have questions or need help with major requirements or COGS course selection?

CONTACT Debra McLafferty,  Undergraduate COGS Coordinator


EMAIL: for questions and course advising

PHONE:  (434) 982-3019. The fastest way to reach me is by giving me a call during business hours. If I am not available, please leave a message with your name and number and I will return your call as soon as possible.

ZOOM VIDEO ADVISING: Appointments are available weekdays during regular business hours. Please email and give me several day/time options and I will email you a Zoom appointment.


Our Offices Have Moved!

Our offices have moved to the Psychology Corner location  but the coordinator is not currently holding in person office hours in 2519B West Complex. The Gilmer renovation is underway and is slated to be complete by August 2022.